Latinos Dominate 2021 Indianapolis 500 Finishing 1st, 2nd, 4th & 9th

By Joe Contreras, Latin Life America Media

Latinos finished first, second, fourth and ninth in the 105th unbelievably exciting edition of the Indianapolis 500, considered the greatest auto racing spectacle in the world.

Helio Castroneves pour milk over himself as part of the decades old tradition. Castroneves chose 2% strawberry milk that he said matched his suit.

Helio Castroneves from Brazil captured his fourth career Indy victory, only the fourth person to ever accomplish the feat and first in more than 40 years to do so.

Alex Palou finishes in second place at the 2021 Indianapolis 500. He currently drives for Chip Ganassi Racing in the IndyCar Series.

The 46 year old Castroneves battled Spain’s 24 year old Alex Palou for the lead in a back and forth battle for the last 50 laps finally passing him for good on the 199th lap of the 200 lap race. “We taught those youngsters a lesson today” said Castroneves in his victory speech.

Much of the race results were determined in the pits. Mistakes in the pit areas were the only mishaps in an otherwise clean race free of crashes on the track itself.

The only major incident came on Lap 119 when GrahamRahal was leading the race pitted. His pit crew left the left-rear tire loose. The wheel popped off as Rahal exited the pits, sending his Dallara-Honda into a hard impact with the Turn 2 wall.

The wheel then ricocheted back into traffic and dramatically struck the front of Conor Daly’s Chevrolet.

Patricio O’Ward was born on 6 May, 1999 in Monterrey, Mexico. Finishing fourth in 2021 Indianapolis 500 Auto Race.

Mexico’s 22 year old Pato Oward held on to third place for 49 of the last 50 laps before being passed on the final lap by France’s Simon Pagenaud.

Juan Pablo Montoya from Colombia finished 9th.

Juan Pablo Montoya from Colombia finished 9th.

More than 135,000 fans viewed the spectacle in person at the famed brickyard following last years Covid-19 affected race in front of zero fans. It was the largest crowd for a sporting event in more than 14 months.

Fans fill the stands during the Indianapolis 500 auto race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Sunday, May 30, 2021. About 135,000 spectators are admitted to the track, for the largest sports event since the start of the pandemic. It’s about 40% of attendance and leaves 100,000 empty seats in the permanent grandstands. (AP Photo/Paul Sancya)

Race results:

106Helio CastronevesMeyer Shank Racing200 
210Alex PalouChip Ganassi Racing2000.492
322Simon PagenaudTeam Penske2000.562
45Patricio O’WardArrow McLaren SP2000.940
520Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter Racing2001.242
645Santino FerrucciRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing2009.087
724Sage KaramDreyer & Reinbold Racing20013.435
821Rinus van KalmthoutEd Carpenter Racing20014.241
986Juan Pablo MontoyaArrow McLaren SP20014.880
1048Tony KanaanChip Ganassi Racing20015.442
118Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi Racing20016.516
122Josef NewgardenTeam Penske20022.304
1347Conor DalyEd Carpenter Racing20022.692
1430Takuma SatoRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing20023.295
151J.R. HildebrandA.J. Foyt Enterprises20023.527
1626Colton HertaAndretti Autosport with Curb-Agajanian20028.802
179Scott DixonChip Ganassi Racing20038.641
1860Jack HarveyMeyer Shank Racing20040.157
1998Marco AndrettiAndretti Herta-Haupert with Marco & Curb-Agajanian20040.359
203Scott McLaughlinTeam Penske20040.833
2129James HinchcliffeAndretti Steinbrenner Autosport20040.846
2228Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti Autosport20041.576
234Dalton KellettA.J. Foyt Enterprises1991 Lap
2459Max ChiltonCarlin1991 Lap
2551Pietro FittipaldiDale Coyne Racing with RWR1991 Lap
2614Sébastien BourdaisA.J. Foyt Enterprises1991 Lap
277Felix RosenqvistArrow McLaren SP1991 Lap
2818Ed JonesDale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan1991 Lap
2927Alexander RossiAndretti Autosport1982 Laps
3012Will PowerTeam Penske1973 Laps
3116Simona de SilvestroParetta Autosport16931 Laps
3215Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing11882 Laps
3325Stefan WilsonAndretti Autosport32168 Laps